Latest updates on the RevIt project to revitalise SCOUTS South Africa.

SCOUTS South Africa

SCOUTS South Africa is a member of the World Organization of the Scout Movement.

Cubs, Scouts and Rovers

SCOUTS South Africa is made up of three branches:

  • Cubs: boys and girls 7 to 10 years
  • Scouts: boys and girls 11 to 17
  • Rovers: young men and women from 18 to 30


Scouting is run in local Groups, which may be made up of units for each branch, for example, a Cub Pack, a Scout Troop and a Rover Crew. Groups are run by volunteer adult leaders as well as a parents committee. The volunteer leaders, known as Scouters, run a programme of weekly meetings, camps and other activities.


Scout groups form local Districts which are coordinated by a volunteer District Commissioner and assistants, and may include a Local Association.


SCOUTS South Africa is divided into provinces. These are run by a Provincial Commissioner and assistants, a Provincial Manager, and a small number of paid staff.


The Chief Scout and Chief Scout's Commissioner are assisted by several National Commissioners. The national headquarters consists of a Chief Executive and a small number of paid staff.

The national headquarters and provincial headquarters consist of a small number of paid staff.

be prepared...