Cartoon by Peter GibsonSouth Africa

South Africa has 9 Provinces

Eastern Cape, Free State, Gauteng, KwaZulu-Natal, Mpumalanga, Northern Cape, Limpopo, North West and Western Cape

SA map

South Africa has 11 Official Languages

Sepedi, Sesotho, Setswana, siSwati, Tshivenda, Xitsonga, Afrikaans, English, isiNdebele, isiXhosa and isiZulu.

Here is the Scout Motto in some of the official languages:

Be Prepared!
Dula o i tukiseditse! Altyd voorbereid!
Hlala uzilungiselele! Dula o i kemiseditse!

South Africa has 46 million people

South Africa has 6 neighbouring countries

Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Swaziland and Lesotho

Facts about South Africa

Capital city: Pretoria
Other major cities: Johannesburg (business centre), Cape Town (Parliament), Durban, Port Elizabeth, Kimberley, Bloemfontein
Currency: 100 cents = 1 Rand
South Africa became a democracy: 27 April 1994

be prepared...